Words are Magic

Like most kids of my generation, I grew up reading Harry Potter. The magic and mystery of every book inspired even those who didn’t love to read to pick up a book and join the students of Hogwarts on an incredible journey. When I was in elementary school, I loved to read. I was one of the only students who actually read the books I checked out from the library, and I constantly challenged myself to read books of higher difficulty than was expected of an eight-year-old. When middle school rolled around, I found myself frustrated as my friends passed me in reading speed and ability. I became discouraged, and the only books I would read on a regular basis were my Harry Potter books. While I loved the story, it was the characters that kept me interested. Many of the characters were more than just a name on a page. They came to life in our minds and in our hearts and impacted us more than the average character in a teen book series. In the second part of the seventh movie (unfortunately it’s not actually in the books, from what I remember), Dumbledore says something to Harry that has always stuck with me.

While standing in a train station at a point where Harry seems to be between life and death, Dumbledore says to Harry:
“Words are, in my not-so-humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic…”

This quote is why I decided to start a blog. Words have so much power. We live in a world dominated by the 10-second sound bite and 140 character news update. Sometimes that just isn’t enough. Sometimes thoughts need to be elaborated on to make a real impact or to draw meaningful conclusions. Dumbledore was right (as always), words are an inexhaustible source of magic, so why not make good use of them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Words are Magic

  1. Mary Mahler says:

    Very well put…great job!

  2. I love it! Looking forward to reading all your posts. 🙂 Words are magic – and writing is pretty magical too.

  3. Very impressive and convincing!! I remember you were a smart little gal even when we went to the Morgan National horse show together with your mom and Cathy Alexander.

Leave a comment